My First Essay Contest

So I’ll be participating in First Things’ Student Essay Contest. I’m excited to throw my hat in the ring, as this is my first essay contest. I’m leaning towards responding to the first prompt: “Liberalism is at the end of its rope. What comes next?”

First place wins $500, second $250. I’m sure many of the participants, which will include graduate students and seminarians, are much smarter and can write much better than me. But what the hell, I’ll give it a shot. I’ve got nothing to lose.

I plan on posting my essay here after submitting it to First Things. It’s due September 15, and chances are I’ll need the full 39 days to finish. Starting the research today. Wish me luck!

One thought on “My First Essay Contest

Leave a Reply

