Evan’s Recent Reads, Edition Seven

1. “Mere Christianity” by C.S. Lewis. Last time I read this classic was over two years ago. I really liked it then but love it now. Fun fact: Lewis was actually not a trained theologian.

2. “The Prose Edda” by Snorri Sturluson. If you want to learn about Norse mythology, this is what you read. Medieval Scandinavian literature has never resonated with me as much as other literature, however. That’s probably a deficiency in me.

3. “Letters from a Self-Made Merchant to His Son” by George Horace Lorimer. Don’t be deceived: these are actually fictional letters. While I didn’t care for a few of the 20 letters, several still contained great nuggets of wisdom on education, business, and relationships.

4. “What I Learned Losing a Million Dollars” by Jim Paul. I read this book in two sittings a couple of nights ago. An entertaining memoir coupled with valuable lessons that the reader can apply to life in general, not just trading and business. Chances are I’ll buy my own copy so I can re-read it several times.

5. “The End of the Modern World” by Romano Guardini. In this work, Guardini combines historical, social, philosophical, and theological analysis to communicate the dangers of the “Mass Man.” Lots packed into a book that doesn’t exceed 220 pages.

Leave a Reply

