Evan’s Friday Briefing: 7/7/17

Welcome to the 7/7/17 edition of “Evan’s Friday Briefing,” a quick list of what I’ve been enjoying, learning, and trying out.

What I’ve Been Listening To

Sergei Rachmaninoff playing Schumann, Chopin, Liszt, Mendelssohn, Tchaikovsky, and Schubert. Rachmaninoff himself was also a fabulous composer, perhaps the last of the Romantics.

Self-Development Habit I’ve Been Trying

Keeping a list of things I aim to do every single day and checking them off when accomplished. My current list: pray/meditate, read for at least 90 minutes, blog, and exercise. I won’t beat myself up if I fail on occasion, because life happens sometimes.

Poet I’ve Been Enjoying

I’ve been rereading some of Edgar Allen Poe’s poetry from Barnes and Noble’s “Essential Tales and Poems.” We all need a little mysteriousness and darkness in our reading piles.

Great Quote I’ve Been Ruminating On

“It is not the man who has too little, but the man who craves more, that is poor.” – Seneca the Younger

Leave a Reply

