Evan’s Friday Briefing: 6/23/17

Welcome to the 6/23/17 edition of “Evan’s Friday Briefing,” a quick list of what I’ve been enjoying, learning, and trying out.

Long YouTube Video I’m Enjoying

Vox Day and Stefan Molyneux discussing Dostoyevsky’s “Crime and Punishment.”

Book I’ve Been Rereading

Machiavelli’s “The Prince.” Getting a lot more out of it the second time around.

Theological Work I Recently Started

Archbishop Hilarion Alfeyev’s “Christ the Conqueror of Hell: The Descent into Hades from an Orthodox Perspective.” I’m Roman Catholic, not Eastern Orthodox, but the Orthodox Church is as equally apostolic as the RCC. I have great respect for the Orthodox and find their history and theology rich and fascinating. I’ll never stop praying for reunification.

My Tip Of The Day

One of my mentors passed on this tip in an email exchange and felt it was worth a share: Reading is never ever a waste of time or mind. Even if you lived to be 100 and did nothing but read and sleep, you still wouldn’t get around to many of the books you wanted to read. Cherish each minute you spend reading, and if you don’t like a book, stop reading it. Life’s too short to read books you hate reading.

Great Quote I’ve Been Ruminating On

“There will come a time when you believe everything is finished. Yet that will be the beginning.” – Louis L’Amour

Leave a Reply

