Evan’s Friday Briefing: 5/19/17

Welcome to the 5/19/17 edition of “Evan’s Friday Briefing,” a quick list of what I’ve been enjoying, learning, and trying out.

Productivity Hack I’ve Been Doing

When I sit down to do some no distraction reading or writing, I put my headphones in, go to YouTube, and put on white noise. It quiets the stupid thoughts buzzing in my brain and allows me to focus. Works equally well in both quieter environments (e.g., at home by myself) and louder environments (e.g., a coffee shop).

Recent Purchase I’m Enjoying

Transcripture International’s “Bilingual New Testament English German.” Verse by verse comparison of the ASV’s and the 1912 Luther Bible’s New Testament. The Kindle version is 99 cents, so you bet it didn’t take me long to click “Buy Now.”

My Tip Of The Day

You will stumble and fail numerous times on your self-development journey. I still stumble and fail. The reason for no posts the past two days? I didn’t outline my schedule. Yeah, a very basic task that I was “too tired” to do. But you can’t dwell on your failures, you just have to pick yourself up and vow to be better the next day.

Great Quote I’ve Been Ruminating On

“Most of the shadows of life are caused by standing in our own sunshine.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Leave a Reply

