Evan’s Friday Briefing: 5/5/17

Welcome to the 5/5/17 edition of “Evan’s Friday Briefing,” a quick list of what I’ve been enjoying, learning, and trying out.

Classical Composer I’ve Been Listening To

As part of an effort to expand my classical music tastes, I’ve listened to Debussy the past couple nights. Very influential late 19th and early 20th century composer. Never really listened to him before, so I’ve been pushing through a “Best Of Debussy” album on Google Play Music to get a taste of him.

Artist I’ve Been Studying

Claude Monet. And no, it’s not a coincidence that I’m listening to Debussy at the same time. (If you’re unaware, Monet was an Impressionist painter, Debussy an Impressionist composer.) I’ve always appreciated Impressionism, but I’m now coming around to truly enjoying it. I especially love the sense of leisure and reflection in Monet’s work.

Amazing Book I Just Finished

“Models” by Mark Manson. Instead of trying to attract women by means of games, techniques, and canned lines, Manson argues that a man should focus on self-improvement and developing True Confidence, also known as “inner game,” in order to approach and date high quality women. I might write a separate post on this book. I’m also going to start reading Manson’s “The Subtle Art of Not Giving a Fuck” upon arrival in the mail.

My Tip Of The Day

Do something every day that makes you sweat. Whether that’s lifting, jump rope, cycling, jogging, tennis, or even a brisk walk. On my non-lifting days I tend to either jump rope or walk. But now that spring hath sprung, I’ll be doing much more cycling and walking. Do what you like most; exercise shouldn’t be a drag.

Leave a Reply

