Recharge Your Batteries to Avoid Burnout

It’s common for those immersed in self-development to want to “hustle” 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. I certainly tried to at one point.

Key words are “tried to.”

I once thought I could be an Übermensch by operating on six-and-a-half hours of sleep and shunning guilty pleasures in the name of “productivity.” It didn’t take me very long to burn out. I began sleeping 10 hours a night, constantly watched reruns of “Whose Line Is It Anyway?” or “High Stakes Poker,” aimlessly surfed the web, had trouble reading books, skimped on my journaling, and quit working out.

The key to a productive, happy life is to not hustle all the time. You need to find time each day to relax and recharge.

Enter Mike Whitfield:

Imagine a flashlight with a dying, but rechargeable battery. Its dim light is almost worthless, yet you continue to use it. All it needs is an hour to recharge the battery and then it would shine brighter than ever.

I can now recognize the warning signs of burnout quicker than I used to. If I ever notice a dip in my energy levels or overall willingness to do things I normally like doing, I make sure to recharge my batteries as soon as possible.

Read the rest of Whitfield’s article here.

One thought on “Recharge Your Batteries to Avoid Burnout

  1. Un grand merci aussi pour tous vos témoignages sur la conjonction Sae.nrt/LuneuJe vais les collecter … et peut-être faire une synthèse …. En tout cas, je voudrais bien avoir le temps !

    Like

Leave a Reply

