You Shouldn’t Become a Writer

Mike Cernovich writes just as much in a recent post on Danger & Play. Excerpt:

The life of a writer is to write every day in obscurity….for years. If you’re lucky, you’ll “break through” in three years. It took me 15 years to earn a full-time living from writing. Today it’s easy street, but factor in opportunity cost and you’d wonder why the hell anyone gets into this game.

I used to be a sports blogger. I started at age nine and didn’t begin making money until age 15. That amounts to six years of constant blogging without anything to show for it. And even by the time I was “making money,” my best months hardly exceeded $150. Peanuts.

I quit sports blogging by age 17 for two reasons: 1) I simply got bored writing only about sports and 2) I could no longer stand the inherent liberal bias in most sports journalism. I never cared about the money. If I did, I would’ve kept going.

I’m 20 now. Let’s just say I hadn’t quit sports blogging. Even if I had a full-time gig by now, I would’ve blogged in relative obscurity for over a decade to get to that point.

If you want to become a writer, you have to write. Day in and day out. For years. With little to no readership. That’s what it takes, folks.

Leave a Reply

