Evan’s Friday Briefing: 3/17/17

Welcome to the 3/17/17 edition of “Evan’s Friday Briefing,” a quick list of what I’ve been enjoying, learning, and trying out.

Classical Music Composer I’ve Been Listening To

Chopin. I’m an inconsistent listener of classical music and have been attempting to listen to it more consistently. Whenever I try getting back into classical music, I always choose Chopin, specifically his “Nocturnes.” They’re short, serene, beautiful works for solo piano. Makes for much easier listening than a full fledged symphony.

Exercise I’ve Been Trying

Hanging on my pull-up bar. It builds stronger shoulders, improves forearm and grip strength, and increases one’s pull-up count. Worth a shot since I’ve been flatlining on my pull-ups lately.

New Biography I’m Eager To Start

John Stubbs’s “Jonathan Swift: The Reluctant Rebel.” You ought to read Swift’s works, specifically “Gulliver’s Travels.” You know it’s a classic work of literature when a kid can enjoy the story for its own sake while an adult can grapple with the author’s political and cultural messages. Anyway, it’s time I read a Swift biography in order to more deeply understand his thought as well as the 18th century English and Irish political climate.

What I’ve Been Teaching Myself

How to follow and invest in the stock market. I also downloaded Robinhood, a legit smartphone app that allows you to trade stocks without fees, but have had issues connecting it with my bank. Hopefully I’ll be an investor soon enough!

Great Quote I’ve Been Ruminating On

“Virtue will not bring herself to enter the limited space we offer her; something of great size requires plenty of room. Let everything else be evicted, and your heart completely opened to her.” – Seneca the Younger

Leave a Reply

