Evan’s Friday Briefing: 3/3/17

Welcome to the 3/3/17 edition of “Evan’s Friday Briefing,” a quick list of what I’ve been enjoying, learning, and trying out.

Artist I’ve Been Listening To

Josh Turner. I usually binge listen to his music every few months. Bass voice + lyrics with substance = great songs.

Former President I’ve Been Reading About

George Washington. I recently read Stephen F. Knott and Tony Williams’s “Washington and Hamilton,” have been rereading my favorite parts of Joseph J. Ellis’s “His Excellency: George Washington,” and will be starting Ron Chernow’s “Washington: A Life” this evening. There’s a lot we can learn not just about Washington, but also from Washington.

Morning Habit I’ve Implemented For Lent

I started reading one chapter of Matthew Kelly’s “Resisting Happiness” each morning. There are 37 chapters, one for every day of Lent. I’m reading it along with the other parishioners at my Catholic church, but you don’t need to be Catholic to enjoy this book.

Great Quote I’ve Been Ruminating On

“It never ceases to amaze me: we all love ourselves more than other people, but care more about their opinion than our own … Ambition means tying your well-being to what other people say or do … Sanity means tying it to your own actions.” – Marcus Aurelius

Leave a Reply

