Drink Water Immediately After Waking Up

In a perfect world, I would wake up when my body told me to. But I have responsibilities, things to do, and places to be. So like most people, I use my smartphone’s alarm to wake up—with a calm sea tone to make the process a little less difficult.

Several weeks ago, I fell into the habit of hitting the snooze button one or even two times before falling back to sleep. Bad, bad, bad idea. Yes, the extra sleep felt great temporarily, but by the time I had to get up, I was groggier and in an overall worse mood than when I first woke up.

Eventually it got to the point where the frustration at not getting up outweighed how good the extra sleep felt. First I set my phone on the other side of my bedroom, only to get up, walk over to my phone, turn the alarm off, collapse back into bed, and drift off to sleep again.

Damn it. If that didn’t work, what would? I thought I’d have to shell out $80-$100 on one of those sunrise alarm clocks. But before I resorted to that, I wanted to try one more thing: drinking a tall glass of water right after I woke up.

That following morning, I got out of bed, walked over to my dresser, turned off my alarm, and started drinking the water. Upon finishing, I noticed that I had no desire to fall back asleep!

Why? Well, when you go approximately eight hours without fluids, you wake up feeling dehydrated. Eliminating this feeling is the key to successfully waking up. I’ve been using the water hack for a few weeks now, and I’ve never relapsed. I’m more energized and ready to tackle the day from the very minute I arise.

Even if you always wake up on time and never hit snooze, I bet you still don’t feel like a spring chicken in the morning. So try this practice anyway. It’ll get you as close to that feeling as possible and thus set the tone for a fantastic, productive day.

Leave a Reply

